top of page

BEATING CANCER AND AN IRONMAN

I had been successfully treated for Ewing's sarcoma of my right leg in 2002. In the winter of 2014 I found out that the allograft tacked down by the erector set that had repaired my leg had epically failed. It was painful, pus was pouring out, and I knew the repair wasn't going to be a lot of fun either.

I had seven major surgeries to repair my tibia defect with a vascularized fibula. I experienced every complication imaginable: a failed graft, twice; an infection; a dehisced wound requiring a vacuum - I was in so much pain that I was on ketamine for four consecutive days. Once healed, I turned on the jets! I was sick and tired of being sick and tired. Life is short, and to me, six months of inconceivable pain and being wheelchair bound were enough reminders to live in the moment.

In 2015 I biked 500 miles.

In 2016 I began swimming.

And..... to my surprise at the beginning of 2017 my doctor cleared me to run.

I was healthy enough to run and was inspired to do so by a friend. It made me think of my next step to an Ironman. Up to this point I had done a 6 mile swim across Mendota Lake in Madison and a 150 mile bike ride from Madison to Chicago (9 hours straight).

I wanted to do an Ironman and new I needed a coach. Enter Angie Smith and Fit4You Coaching. I had a goal in mind of beating 13 hours. I began running again, it wasn't easy but Angie was there to guide and encourage me. In addition to planning and coordinating my swim, bike, run and strength training sessions - she would be sure to ask me about my running. I told her it "sucked". In response, I got a mix of tough love and encouragement. Her coaching service was always professional and she was extremely available to manage any questions. She was very good at working my training plan around my schedule.

September 10,2017 - I beat my goal of less than 8 hours for the swim and bike portion of Ironman Wisconsin and finished in less than 13 hours, as was my goal! I did what I set out to do and I thank Angie @Fit4You Coaching for the guidance, coaching and meal preparation over the IM weekend.

I am hooked and am already working on next season!!

As Michael's coach, I am extremely impressed with his focus and determination to reach the goal he set for himself. It has been a pleasure to watch him go from thinking running "sucks" to laying it down in the last 4 miles of his marathon in IM Wisconsin to achieve the goal he set for himself. We can all learn a lesson from Michael... live in the moment and challenge yourself to overcome whatever barriers are placed in your way. I recognized that Michael was a "gamer" early on.... he shows up and get the job done!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page